IT18D 03296 01601 000067277242


Email: info@maisondelajoie.com

Maison de la joie - Ouidah
2^ arrondissement Quartie Gbenan - BP 645
Ouidah Benin

Maison de la Joie-ODV


Email: info@maisondelajoie.com

Maison de la Joie ODV

Legal address: Via Orto Badia, 7 - Faenza (RA)

Donate your 5 x thousand

Tax code: 90036990399





Ouidah is the voodoo capital and the second most visited place in the country after Cotonou. It is a city of historical and cultural importance and has several temples and museums, such as the Musée d'Histoire d'Ouidah (also known as the Voodoo Museum). In addition, Ouidah is home to the Sacred Forest Park and the equally sacred Route des Esclave (Slave Route), which has historical and symbolic value: slaves traveled this 4 km road from the city to the beautiful beaches, where they were loaded onto ships. Today, the road is lined with fetishes, statues, and small villages. Ouidah is located 40 km from Cotonou along the main road to Togo.



Benin is stretched between the Niger River to the north and the Benin Inlet to the south, and the elevation of the land does not vary significantly in different areas of the country. The majority of the population lives in the southern coastal plains, where the major cities of Benin, including Porto-Novo and Cotonou, are also located. The northern part of the country is mainly made up of semi-arid plateaus covered with savannah.



The Republic of Benin is a country in West Africa, previously known as Dahomey.

It has a very short coastline that corresponds to the Benin Inlet in the south, and shares borders with Togo to the west, Nigeria to the east, and Burkina Faso and Niger to the north.

Benin is a presidential republic, and the current head of state and government is Patrice Talon. The capital is Porto-Novo, but the seat of government is in Cotonou. Benin is a member of ECOWAS.

The official language is French.

In-depth analysis


Benin (formerly known as Dahomey) proclaimed independence on August 1, 1960, and, together with Ivory Coast, Niger, Senegal, Togo, and Burkina Faso, became a member of the West African Economic and Monetary Union. The currency adopted in Benin is still the CFA Franc. The currency in circulation in the country, as well as in the other states belonging to the Union, is issued by the Central Bank of West African States (BCEAO).